Accessible Page Links

Page Tools

Main page Content

Debaters win Grand Final

Year 9 team two debaters
HUGE CONGRATULATIONS to Mansfield State High School’s Year 9 Team Two debaters who, on Wednesday 29 August, WON their QDU GRAND FINAL.  This is a fantastic achievement as they are the first State high school to have won a Brisbane Grand Final since 2002.  We broke a decade of drought!  The team (pictured right with their coordinators Miss Watts and Ms Bosznay), which consists of Ann Carew, Kruthi Bachu, Sophie Rawlins, Peter Truong and Tooru Nishido, put forth wonderful arguments and demonstrated their fantastic debating skills in front of a large crowd at Somerville House.  It was a well-deserved victory for the team members, who worked very hard throughout the year and whose skills are second-to-none.
The Grand Final topic was: ‘That we should legalise commercial whaling’.  The Mansfield team was affirmative, while their opponents, Brisbane Boys Grammar, were negative.  First speaker, Ann Carew led the charge with a very well-structured and convincing argument.  Second speaker, Kruthi Bachu, continued the team’s case with two very strong points and wonderful rebuttal.  Third speaker, Tooru Nishido, did an amazing job of summing up the team’s case and pointing out major flaws in the opposition’s arguments.  With Sophie Rawlins as the debate chairperson and fellow team member, Peter Truong, cheering in the crowd, the Mansfield team members were the stand-out performers on the night. 
Another highlight to come out of the Grand Final night was Mansfield State High School being given an Encouragement Award by Queensland Debating Union Administrator, Tony Scarcella.  This Award was given to only three schools in the whole competition, and was an acknowledgement of our school’s long-standing involvement at a highly commendable level in debating.
A huge thank you and congratulations goes to Miss Watts, the team’s coach, who has given up countless hours to help the students prepare and practise.  Her tireless efforts were celebrated on assembly on Friday 31 August and the whole school was given the opportunity to congratulate the team members for their wonderful work. 
Again, thank you to all students who participated in debating this year.  We would love you to come back next year and of course, we always encourage new members.  Thank you again to all of the coaches and especially to Ms Bosznay, who, as Debating Co-ordinator for many years, has built up Mansfield’s reputation for being strong competitors.  The Encouragement Award can be attributed to her tireless efforts over many years. Congratulations to: Year Nine Team Two; coach Miss Watts; and Mansfield State High School. Thank you also to 2012 Debating Coordinator, Mrs Solah.